How thick does closed-cell foam have to be before it is the vapour barrier?
Fifty millimetres. Two inches. And the reason is better than any single product's test result: the material standard closed-cell foam is certified against sets its own pass/fail for water vapour permeance on a 50 mm specimen. Meet the standard, install 50 mm, and you have met the code's permeance limit by definition — not by coincidence.
- Governing document
- NBC(AE) 2023 · 9.25.4.2 · CAN/ULC-S705.1
- Sources last checked
Section 01
The answer, and why it holds
Section 02
The clause chain, in order
“Except as provided in Sentence (2), vapour barriers shall have a permeance not greater than 60 ng/(Pa·s·m²) measured in accordance with ASTM E96/E96M… using the desiccant method (dry cup).”
National Building Code – 2023 Alberta Edition — 9.25.4.2.(1)
“Where foamed plastic insulation functions as the vapour barrier, it shall be sufficiently thick so as to meet the requirement of Sentence (1).”
National Building Code – 2023 Alberta Edition — 9.25.4.2.(8)
This is the sentence that makes the question a real question. The code does not name a thickness. It says “sufficiently thick,” and points back at Sentence (1). The material standard is what supplies the number. Note also that Alberta’s wording is foamed plastic insulation specifically — narrower, and more useful here, than the generic “insulation” wording used in some other provinces’ codes.
Two supporting articles complete the chain. Article 9.25.4.1.(1) establishes that thermally insulated wall, ceiling and floor assemblies need a vapour barrier at all, to stop diffusion from the interior into wall spaces, floor spaces and attic or roof spaces. And Sentence 9.25.4.2.(2) carves out thermally insulated foundation wall assemblies, which may use a variable-permeance “smart” barrier: ≤ 60 ng/(Pa·s·m²) dry cup and > 300 ng/(Pa·s·m²) wet cup. NBC(AE) · 9.25.4.1.(1), 9.25.4.2.(2)
Section 03
What the products actually measure
These are published values from CCMC evaluations and manufacturers’ Canadian technical data. They are not offered as a product recommendation — they are here so that a reader can see how much headroom a conforming product has against the 60 ng limit.
| Product | At 50 mm | At 25 mm | Evaluation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Requirement — CAN/ULC-S705.1The standard's pass/fail is set at a 50 mm specimen. That is the whole basis of the 50 mm answer. | ≤ 60 | not specified | CCMC technical criteria |
| Huntsman Heatlok Soya HFO | 13 | — | CCMC 14078-L |
| Soprema SOPRA-SPF 200 | 31 | — | CCMC 14414-L |
| Huntsman Heatlok Soya HP | 31 | — | CCMC 14505-L |
| Genyk Boreal Nature Elite | 34 | — | CCMC 14140-L |
| Elastochem Insulthane ExtremeOne of the few products publishing a 25 mm figure. It passes there too — but that is a product result, not a code entitlement. | 36 | 47 | CCMC 13697-L / TDS |
| Amrize Enverge 1860 CDN / Nexseal 2.0 CDN | 38.0 | — | CCMC 14087-L |
| BASF WALLTITE XL01 | 40 | — | CCMC 14230-R |
| BASF WALLTITE XL01, high-temperature (40 °C substrate)Still passing, but with 1 ng of headroom. Substrate condition moves this number. | 59 | — | CCMC 14230-R |
Requirement — CAN/ULC-S705.1
The standard's pass/fail is set at a 50 mm specimen. That is the whole basis of the 50 mm answer.
- At 50 mm
- ≤ 60
- At 25 mm
- not specified
Elastochem Insulthane Extreme
One of the few products publishing a 25 mm figure. It passes there too — but that is a product result, not a code entitlement.
- At 50 mm
- 36
- At 25 mm
- 47
BASF WALLTITE XL01, high-temperature (40 °C substrate)
Still passing, but with 1 ng of headroom. Substrate condition moves this number.
- At 50 mm
- 59
- At 25 mm
- —
Section 04
Four nuances that make this authoritative rather than promotional
- Many products also pass at 25 mm — but that is a product result, not a code entitlement. Insulthane Extreme measures 47 ng at 25 mm; a legacy WALLTITE formulation measured 51. Both are under 60. The material standard only guarantees the threshold at 50 mm. The correct sentence is: “50 mm of CAN/ULC-S705.1 closed-cell foam meets the code’s vapour-barrier permeance limit; some products also meet it at 25 mm — check the specific CCMC report.”
- Do not lead with 38 mm. The Spray Foam Coalition’s Canadian installation guide says most closed-cell products “typically qualify as a code-compliant vapour barrier at 38 mm thickness or greater.” That is an industry generalisation from a trade association, not a code number and not a standard’s test thickness. It may well be true of a given product; it is not a specification. ACC / SFC Canadian guidesec.
- CCMC permeance is measured with the top skin removed — so field foam is typically tighter than the certificate. The Soprema evaluation states it: “The WVP is determined from a core sample with the top skin removed. Due to the effect of the skin, the WVP at this thickness may be lower in the site-installed product.” The certificate is the conservative number.
- Watch the unit conversion. 1 US perm = 57.4 ng/(Pa·s·m²). The code number is 60 ng, not 57.4. They are close but not identical — RDH’s Alberta report, for instance, works to “less than 57 ng/Pa·s·m² or approximately 1 US Perm.” When you are quoting the code, quote 60 ng.
Section 05
Open-cell foam is not a vapour barrier, at any buildable thickness
Section 06
Passing the permeance number is necessary, not sufficient
“Where the same product is used for the vapour barrier and the insulation, the product shall be installed sufficiently close to the warm side of the assembly to prevent condensation at design conditions.”
National Building Code – 2023 Alberta Edition — 9.25.4.3.(3)
This is the clause that authorises spray foam to act as its own vapour barrier — and it is conditional. Position and condensation control, not just permeance. Sentence 9.25.4.3.(1) adds the general rule that a vapour barrier “shall protect the warm side” of the assembly. Foam that passes the permeance test but sits in the wrong place in the assembly has not complied with anything.
Design conditions in Red Deer means a January 2.5% temperature of −32 °C and a 1% temperature of −35 °C. That is the outdoor number the condensation check is run against — one more reason the Zone 7A design data is worth having in front of you before specifying a thickness.
A related objection this resolves: “what about the rafters?” Wood framing already meets the vapour barrier requirement on its own. RDH cites Exova test data putting 2×4 framing at 36 ng/(Pa·s·m²) (0.63 US perm) and 2×6 framing at 30 ng (0.52 US perm), dry cup — both comfortably inside the 60 ng limit. A full-depth foam roof does not have a vapour hole where each rafter is. RDH, citing Exova 09-06-M0097
Section 07
If the foam goes on the outside of the wall, a different rule bites
Subsection 9.25.5 governs low-permeance materials placed outboard of the insulation, and in Zone 7A it has teeth. Article 9.25.5.1.(1) catches sheet and panel-type materials with an air leakage characteristic under 0.1 L/(s·m²) at 75 Pa and a water vapour permeance under 60 ng/(Pa·s·m²) dry cup. Article 9.25.5.2.(1) then requires such materials to be installed on the warm face, or outboard of an air space vented to the outdoors, or with a minimum ratio of outboard to inboard thermal resistance taken from Table 9.25.5.2. NBC(AE) · 9.25.5.1, 9.25.5.2
| HDD of building location | Minimum outboard : inboard ratio | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Up to 4 999 | 0.20 | Table 9.25.5.2, NBC-derived publicationsec. |
| 5 000 to 5 999 — Red Deer at 5550 | 0.30 | Table 9.25.5.2, NBC-derived publicationsec. |
| 6 000 to 6 999 | 0.35 | Table 9.25.5.2, NBC-derived publicationsec. |
| 7 000 to 7 999 | 0.40 | Table 9.25.5.2, NBC-derived publicationsec. |
5 000 to 5 999 — Red Deer at 5550
- Minimum outboard : inboard ratio
- 0.30
Translated for Red Deer: if closed-cell foam or foam board goes on the outside of a wall, at least 30 per cent of the assembly’s total thermal resistance has to sit outboard of the foam’s inner face — otherwise that face runs cold enough to condense. On a 2×6 batt wall with roughly RSI 3.0 inboard, that is about RSI 0.9 (R-5) of continuous exterior foam as a floor, not a token 12 mm. Getting this wrong builds a condensing plane inside a wall.
Section 08
What to check on the CCMC report before you accept the claim
Every item here is publicly checkable, which is the point. A proposal that claims foam is doing vapour-barrier duty should survive all six.
- The product’s CCMC number, and that its status reads Active on the NRC site. The look-up pattern is public: nrc.canada.ca/…/document.html?id=NUMBER&type=cert.
- That the report lists compliance with NBC 2020, not only NBC 2015.
- The 50 mm water vapour permeance on the report — under 60 ng/(Pa·s·m²) if the foam is the vapour barrier.
- The 50 mm design LTTR, and that it matches the R-value quoted on the proposal. In Canada the aged LTTR is the design value by rule of the standard, so a proposal quoting an initial ASTM C518 figure is quoting the wrong number.
- The site quality assurance provider named in the report, and that the crew’s cards match it. There are four CCMC-recognised programmes — CUFCA, Caliber, BPC and UFC — and each manufacturer designates one. Alberta’s code names none of them; it names CAN/ULC-S705.2, through Article 9.25.2.5.
- The Daily Work Record for the job, and the thermal barrier specified for every surface where foam will be visible.
Every number on this page, and where it came from.
Code values are transcribed from the free National Research Council electronic editions rather than from third-party summaries. Where a figure is a manufacturer's published test result rather than code text, it is labelled as such.
01
National Building Code – 2023 Alberta Edition
National Research Council Canada
Articles 9.25.4.1, 9.25.4.2, 9.25.4.3 and Subsection 9.25.5.
https://nrc-publications.canada.ca/eng/view/object/?id=0316d953-0d55-4311-af69-cad55efec49902
CCMC Technical Criteria — CAN/ULC-S705.1-15
Canadian Construction Materials Centre, NRC
The material standard's pass/fail table, including water vapour permeance ≤ 60 ng/(Pa·s·m²) measured at 50 mm.
https://nrc.canada.ca/en/certifications-evaluations-standards/canadian-construction-materials-centre/ccmc-publications/document.html?id=CAN_ULC-S705.1-15&type=techcrit03
CCMC 14230-R — BASF WALLTITE XL01
Canadian Construction Materials Centre, NRC
Permeance at 50 mm, plus the high-temperature substrate result.
https://nrc.canada.ca/en/certifications-evaluations-standards/canadian-construction-materials-centre/ccmc-publications/document.html?id=14230-R&type=cert04
Insulthane Extreme Technical Guide (CCMC 13697-L)
Elastochem
Published permeance at both 25 mm and 50 mm — one of the few products publishing both.
https://elastochem.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/08/InsulthaneExtreme_Technical_Guide_Rev4.pdf05
CCMC 14414-L — Soprema SOPRA-SPF 200
Canadian Construction Materials Centre, NRC
Also the source of the note that CCMC permeance is measured with the top skin removed.
https://nrc.canada.ca/en/certifications-evaluations-standards/canadian-construction-materials-centre/ccmc-publications/pdf.html?id=938&type=cert06
CCMC 14078-L — Huntsman Heatlok Soya HFO
Huntsman Building Solutions
https://huntsmanbuildingsolutions.com/en-CA/sites/en_ca/files/2022-01/14078-L_e.pdf07
CCMC 14140-L — Genyk Boreal Nature Elite
Canadian Construction Materials Centre, NRC
https://nrc.canada.ca/en/certifications-evaluations-standards/canadian-construction-materials-centre/ccmc-publications/document.html?id=14140-L&type=cert08
Sealection 500 Technical Data Sheet
Huntsman Building Solutions
Open-cell permeance at 3.5 in. — 362 ng/(Pa·s·m²).
https://huntsmanbuildingsolutions.com/en-US/en-CA/sites/en_us/files/2025-06/20.00085-Sealection_500-TDS_EN-V7-DIGITAL.pdf09
CCMC 13655-R — Elastochem 500 / Home Foam (open-cell)
Canadian Construction Materials Centre, NRC
https://www.nrc.canada.ca/en/certifications-evaluations-standards/canadian-construction-materials-centre/ccmc-publications/document.html?id=13655-R&type=cert10
32139.000: Alberta Unvented Roofs — Evaluation Report (10 Sep 2025)
RDH Building Science Inc.
Source of the wood-framing permeance figures, citing Exova report 09-06-M0097.
https://sprayfoamcoalition.org/wp-content/uploads/32139_000-2025-09-10-RDH-Alberta-Unvented-Roofs-Report.pdf
Vapour control is one of three jobs the same material may be doing at once. The other two have their own clauses, their own thresholds, and their own thicknesses.
NBC(AE) 2023 · 9.36.2.9 / 9.36.2.10 · NECB 2020 · 3.2.4
Air barrier requirements
Closed-cell foam clears the air-barrier material threshold at roughly 25 mm — a different job, a different standard, and a number widely misquoted for Alberta.
Read itNBC(AE) 2023 Tables 9.36.2.6.-A/-B and 9.36.2.8.-A
Zone 7A code compliance
The thermal side: the Zone 7A RSI minimums the same assembly has to hit, and the design temperatures the condensation check runs against.
Read itSTANDATA 23-BCV-017 (September 2025)
Unvented roofs (23-BCV-017)
The assembly where 'does the foam count as the vapour barrier?' decides whether you need a separate vapour control layer at all.
Read itCAN/ULC-S705.2 · CCMC 14230-R
Winter application limits
Substrate condition moves permeance — the high-temperature result in the table above is a reminder that how it is sprayed changes what it measures.
Read it
Need the thickness settled for a specific assembly?
Send the wall or roof section, the product being proposed and its CCMC number. You'll get the permeance and position check against 9.25.4.2 and 9.25.4.3 — with the clause, not a rule of thumb.
